2019 Awards

2019 Orchids & Onions Awards Ceremony

The 2019 Orchids & Onions Awards Ceremony was held on Thursday, October 3, 2019 at the historic US Grant Hotel. The ceremony was emceed by State Assembly Member Todd Gloria. Bitcoin slots online was the General Sponsor of the award. For a self-guided tour map of the winners, download the ArchiMaps app on your smartphone, and select Orchids & Onions San Diego.

The Orchid Winners

Palomar College Maintenance Operations Complex, San Marcos Malone Grand Orchid
Borrego Springs Library, Park and Sheriff’s Office Architecture
C3 Encinitas Architecture
Makers Quarter Block D, downtown East Village Architecture
Miller Hull, San Diego Studio, Point Loma Interior Design
Raised by Wolves Interior Design
C3 Encinitas Landscape Architecture
Linda Vista Skate Park Placemaking
Morning Glory, Little Italy Architectural Detail
The Ilan-Lael Center Collaborative Architecture
Climate Clocks (Abstraction Devices) Public Art
Conrad Prebys Performing Arts Center People’s Choice Orchid

The Onion Winners

Shift Apartments, East Village Architecture
Millennium Mission Valley Architecture
Mission Hills-Hillcrest Harley & Bessie Knox Branch Library Architecture
Truax House/Leon at Laurel Landscape Architecture
Shift Apartments, East Village People’s Choice Onion

Planning Committee

Laura Warner: Co-Chair
Ben Dalton: Co-Chair
Steve Eidle: Events Manager
Anne Militante: Vice Chair
Jim Brady: Sponsorship Lead
John Martinez: Jury & Media
Brandon Nash: Jury & Media
Roger Showley: Archimaps Lead
Suzanne Clemmer: Jury Scribe & Program Script Writer
Sonja Helton: Sponsorship
Rachel Morel: Communications


Ian Patzke: Lead Photographer
Jim Brady: Photographer
Maha Comianos: Photographer
Andy McRory: Photographer
Milan Kovacevic: Event Photographer


Miti Aiello: Asst. Professor, NSAD/Owner, Archist Design Studio
Jim Brown: Principal, Public Architecture and Planning
Matthew Ellis: AIA, NCARB, PGAL
David Hecht: AIA, LEED AP, Principal, Tannerhecht Architecture
Amber Lake: PLA, ASLA, LEED AP, Carrier Johnson + CULTURE
David Malmouth: Developer
Tatiana Ortiz-Rubio: Visual Artist
Jessica Pope: Masters Student, NSAD/Design Asst. SGPA
Brian Rickling: AIA, NCARB, Heritage Architecture and Planning
Heather Ruszczyk: Architect, Miller Hull Partnership
Regina Vanderwerff: Development Manager, Suffolk Construction

Gala Volunteers

Susie Burgin
Dale Boyer
Maria Caneja
Maria Coleman
Karl Greschner
Jonathan Gonzalez
Audrey Herrin-Warner

Leslie Luna
Jennifer Mayfield
Colleen McKnight
Michael Palmore
Diana Tracy
Dominique Valentino
Monica Valentino